top of page
Writer's pictureLouise Smallbone

Stourhead: A Poem of Memory

My favourite time of year is autumn and my favourite place to visit during this season is Stourhead. This year I won't be able to go, but I have tried to capture my memories of it in a poem. I have also made a YouTube video of me reading the poem, link is down below!

This poem is made for Live Art Creative Challenge: Autumn




Stourhead: A Poem of Memory


Once upon a time we used to walk the whole way,

Round and round we went, stopping only to preserve

A memory. A stolen moment that the future may forever look upon.

Yet, now as my eyes glaze over the perfectly still gloss

I see the motionless figures smile back.

Frozen muscles stare back at me, transfixed and impersonal.

The intimacy that was once lived and breathed

now open for public criticism.


And I’m the critic.


Still, I remember the hues and tones.

The precise watercolour seemed to be alive

As the blanket of hands slipped over the muddy earth

It seemed impossible not to disturb the tree's silent slumber.

Tearing through the fallen layer, childhood glee swam through veins.


Falling leaves gently made their way towards

Outstretched arms readying themselves to encase

a share of their own.

I’ve got one, I’ve got one!

That’s luck in the year to be, she would say.

Her creased eyes would grin

with all the wisdom of the years gone by.


Now hanging above the oak bed rest,

Lies the painting I was once within.

But this time, no face lies within its walnut frame,

Only skill and brush strokes carefully describe

The inferno that stretches across the Stourhead trees.



Watch my YouTube Video below:



Stay safe and be kind to yourself,

LVSCreations

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page