top of page
Writer's pictureLouise Smallbone

What has kept me going this past month (or so)

Raise your hand if you thought lockdown would last max 6 weeks? Me.

Did 2020 you ever think April 2021 you would still be in a lockdown? Nope, me neither.


It's been a strange old time, hasn't it? But, whilst it has been a pretty horrific time, it hasn't been all doom and gloom. And I really try to make a conscious effort to be grateful for something, for anything every day. And yes, some days it feels harder to think that than others.



I just thought I would share some the things getting me through recently. Like a 2014 favourites YouTube video basically.







Tea/Coffee

Oh I do love a brew. And honestly 11am is my favourite part of the day. A cuppa coffee and a biscuit. Perfect.




  • Coffee wise Costa recently had their 50th bday and celebrated with 50p hot drinks. So I tired Vanilla Coconut Latte (very creamy and enjoyable on a hot day) and Caramel Oat Latte (quite sweet for me but the oat milk was lovely and I rarely have oat milk so a nice change!)

  • Teas I have been enjoying recently: Twinings Sleep Tea and Twinings Coconut and Chocolate Green Tea




TV Shows

I am a bit of TV addict but it runs in the family you see. I have found a few new shows I've gotten into which are good to watch after a long day of dissertation writing


  • Lost - The OG for binge-watching. I won't lie, I'm on season 5 and its getting a little silly, I miss the older seasons but that won't stop me from watching all 6 series - I have to know what happens in the end!

  • The 100 - dystopian, teen, apocalyptic. This screams 2014. I love it though. A mixture between Hunger Games and Maze Runner, but a TV series so you're more invested in the characters, - which is a good and bad thing. Genuinely used up a whole pack of tissues for one episode and proceeded to have nightmares about the whole event, slept really poorly that night and was still in shock the next morning. Despite this, I recommend.

  • SU2C Bake Off - I can't help myself, I love the good ole British Baking show too much! And James McAvoy was on one episode! What a treat

  • Climate Change Ade on the Frontline - I love a nature docu and one that is informative is even better. I have loved Ade since he did a TV show on CBBC when I was a kid so it was lovely to have him and his smile grace the TV screen again

Makeup or lack thereof

For many years I have loved makeup. Buying it, trying it, wearing it, sharing it. But since lockdown I honestly cannot be bothered, and not wearing anything has done wonders for my skin. I wore mascara for the first time in about 3 weeks yesterday and I swear my lashes are looking longer and more healthy than ever!


Spontaneous Stuff

If you know me, I'm not exactly the spontaneous type. I sit at the same desk and chair in the library every day for crying out loud, I am a schedule fiend. But, I made the spontaneous decisions (granted with a glass of red wine in hand) to dye my hair. And upon announcing this decision to many people I had no way of going back against it. So I did it. I did a peek-a-boo hair dye inspired by Charli D'Amelio. I may not be able to dance like her but I do have hair like hers! And do you know what? I love my new pink hair! Definitely going to do it again!


Mom Jeans

Now listen, I know I'm late to the party by about 80 years but blimey are Mom jeans comfy. Bought one pair and then bought another! I cannot be stopped! Comfy, high waisted, not clingy and flattering.


Faith

I've had a fair few crisis points recently. What with the upcoming third year deadlines, the need to look for jobs, realising just how much covid has affected me, the job market and everything else. But time and again I've called on God and had almost instantaneous results. The other day I was panicking thinking I had missed an important email about a reference and was hatching many plans about what I would say in an email to the company about the matter, But as I opened my email up for the third time that day the top unread email in


And again today, I had a few other contacts that hadn't replied to me and somehow today four very important emails all came through around the same time.


All this for me is saying, trust. My timing is not his timing. He will provide.
 

I hope wherever you are, and however you're feeling, I pray that today you may find some peace and calmness in your heart. We are all in this together.




Stay safe and be kind to yourselves.

LVS Creations xx


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page