top of page
Writer's pictureLouise Smallbone

setting lights

Another lockdown, another creative challenge.


About a month ago I signed up for this creative art link with the theatre company, Live Art, which allows you to receive an anonymous piece of art work (it can be anything; a dance, a picture, a video, a script, a mosaic etc.) and from that stimulus you create something inspired by it.


I've done it once before and loved the concept I came up with last time. This time my concept was much simpler. So simple, it's natural. And yet, the execution was beautiful. I love it. I love the way it turned out.




Here's how it was made:


My piece setting lights was inspired by a poem written about nature by the previous linker, and in particular, the line "But the lights, whilst it lasted, gave me hope, and I will keep going until I meet it again."


This then sparked (pun intended) an idea in my head and I wanted to explore the ways in which the natural light fades and the artificial light brightens.


I was also inspired by the boundary at which the human and non-human world collide which is why there is the juxtaposition of natural light and artificial light, outside setting and inside objects .. you get the picture!


I used Dylan Thomas' poem 'Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night' because it felt apt and the language of light and the imagery of the cyclical nature of the sun fitted perfectly with the piece. setting lights was created at sunset and filmed over 50 minutes between the start of the setting sun and the last light of the day.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page